Dr. Ash Parameswaran: Biography


Dr. Ash M. Parameswaran obtained his bachelor of engineering in electronics and communication with honors in 1982 from Madras University, India. He was then accepted for graduate study at the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada. He did his Masters degree in electrical engineering and later he completed his Doctoral Degree in Microelectronics in 1990.

Subsequently, he joined Simon Fraser University, School of Engineering Science as an assistant professor. At SFU, he established a microfabrication and micromachining laboratory to fabricate micromechanical devices and systems. During the 1998 academic year, Dr. Parameswaran spent his sabbatical at the Berkeley Sensor and Actuator Center, University of California, Berkeley researching in microphotonics and display applications. His research interest is in the field of applied MEMS, micro-fluidics and nanotechnology for biomedical instrumentation.

Dr. Parameswaran has an excellent track record for training Highly Qualified Personnel under his supervision. In the past 6 years, he has supervised/co-supervised nearly 100 students at doctoral, masters as well as undergraduate thesis level. Many of his graduates are holding prominent academic and industrial appointments nationally and internationally.

For the 2007 academic year, Dr. Parameswaran's doctoral student was the winner of Governor General's gold medal. Dr. Parameswaran has served as a referee and consultant for agencies such as National Institute of Standards and Technology, National Institute of Health, NATO, and United Nations. He was also selected for a United Nations Mission to conduct a short course on MEMS Technology for the Educational and Research Institutions in India. Since June 2001, Dr. Parameswaran has been promoted to full Professorship and has been appointed as the Director of the Institute of Micromachine and Microfabrication Research at School of Engineering Science, Simon Fraser University. Dr. Parameswaran has published more than 150 technical documents in scientific journals and conferences. He is also the winner of the 2007 Sandford Fleming Wighton Fellowship for innovative and distinctive contribution to electrical engineering undergraduate laboratory instruction. In 2007, he was awarded APEGBC teaching award for excellence in engineering and geoscience education.